History in Establishing C-FB RSPA

In the spring of 1998 Dr. Annette Griffin, Superintendent of Carrollton -Farmers Branch ISD, called Kathryn McWhorter to visit in her office with Bill and Sue Passmore, members of the Richardson TRTA unit. They offered their guidance to help C-FB start a new TRTA chapter.

The organizational meeting was held on April 2, 1998, at Ted Polk Middle School. Twenty-five retirees attended. The first members of the *Carrollton-Farmers Branch Retired School Personnel Association** included the following:

Charles Thacker Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

George Smith Assistant Superintendent of Business

Doyle McWhorter **Business Director** Lora Folsom Secondary Principal Brice Jackson Secondary Principal Conan Reinken Secondary Principal Kathrvn McWhorter Secondary Principal Elementary Principal Marie Huie Helen Morris Elementary Principal George Shelley **Elementary Principal** Harold Steele Elementary Principal June Thompson Elementary Principal Sammie Perry Special Ed. Director Blanche McClain Special Ed. Supervisor Nancy Strickland Secondary Teacher **Elementary Teacher** Diane Adair Mary Beth Geiger **Elementary Teacher** Florida Jossell **Elementary Teacher** Barbara McKinney **Elementary Teacher**

Joanne AukesSecretaryLeola BraceySecretaryBarbara BrevigSecretaryCarolyn GossSecretaryGene EpleyTransportationAlma SandersonFood Services

The people attending the first meeting selected a nominating committee to include Charles Thacker, George Shelley, Helen Morris, Paulette Mansell and Barbara Brevig.

Dr. Bill and Sue Passmore, members of the Richardson TRTA chapter, installed our new officers.

^{*}Those attending the first meeting chose to name the new TRTA chapter in Carrollton-Farmers Branch "Retired School Personnel Association." This name was chosen as it seemed to be more inclusive for all retirees.